Now accepting Telehealth appointments. Read our blog. // Click for more information on COVID-19.

Testimonials & Reviews

4.98/5

River Place OB/GYN

OB-GYNs located in Austin, TX

244 total reviews

River Place OB/GYN always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 244 reviews with an average rating of 4.98 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about River Place OB/GYN below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Rhea V.
Submitted 03/04/20
Dr. Thoppil, thank you for always listening and making sure I know you are hearing me. It has been a very long time since I felt a doctor truly listened to me. Also, thank you for arming me with information and debating different health issues with me. The staff is a pleasure as well!
Erica A.
Submitted 02/28/20
Before choosing a doctor I researched for over a week. I choose Dr. Thoppil and his staff for many reasons. The main reason was I wanted top notch quality care from a well educated and experience doctor with a small practice feel. As a women of color, I know I’m 3x more likely to die due to childbirth complications during labor and delivery. Furthermore, I was less likely to be heard or believed when I had concerns affecting my health during pregnancy. I wanted a place that diversity was present so they would understand these concerns. I wanted a diverse practice of professionals where I wouldn’t be seen as a number or get lost in the shuffle. I’m 25 weeks in and have been extremely happy with my decision. Dr. Thoppil has always been extremely honest with me and never made me feel rushed. Each one of the nurses and techs down to the lady who draws my blood addresses me and my partner by name and remembers everything about me and the prior visit. They greet me with a smile, they are warm/funny, encouraging and truly are invested in making sure not just the baby is well but me too. Financially, with our jobs there were cheaper options for birthing our daughter with our insurance. But Dr. Thoppil gives me piece of mind. And is worth it. I look forward to seeing what feels like a second family when I come in for appointments. I’ve been coming here since I was five weeks. They saw me scared and emotional as well as hopeful and happy. This practice seems to value diversity with a patient/child centered approach to everything. Picking the person who would bring my child into the world was arguably the hardest decision I’ve ever made in my adult life. And I’m sure the first of many. However, since choosing my doctor all pregnancy related stress/issues have been made easy. I’m always informed, things are always explained and staff is always available to answer my questions the multiple times I’ve called. I look forward to growing my family with these people. With confidence I feel comfortable at this point in my pregnancy recommending them to other first time mothers.
Grace T.
Submitted 05/11/19
Dr. Thoppil was amazing! He listened, understood my syptoms, and discussed my options. I didn't feel rushed at all and he made me feel very comfortable. He will be my GYN doc from now on! It has only been a few weeks since my visit, and I am feeling so much better!
Ngoc H.
Submitted 05/11/19
I've been seeing Dr. Thoppil, for over 8 years and he provides the best service ever!!
Desiree G.
Submitted 04/23/19
Dr. Thoppil is hilarious. For me, this was very important. He always answered all of my questions and never once made me feel like I was a nuisance.
Heather A.
Submitted 03/07/19
I was so impressed with Dr. Shepherd and her staff from beginning to end. Many doctors don’t even remember why you are coming in but Dr. Shepherd not only took the time to read my chart but to bring me copies of important medical photographs without having to ask. Every time there was communication from the office, she called me personally...you almost never get that attention these days. I 100% recommend this office!
Kathryn C.
Submitted 02/20/19
I appreciate the entire staff at River Place OBGYN. Dr Thoppil takes time to talk with me, address my concerns and actually listens to what I have to say. He gives great feedback and suggestions for improvement. Only reason I don't give this a 5 star review is the billing issue with the labs that continue to cause problems. Wish they could work that part out. Otherwise, I anticipate I'll be with this practice for a long time!
Amanda E.
Submitted 02/19/19
Dr. Thoppil is always attentive to my questions and gives the time to listen. His nurse Tiffany is always welcoming and remembers you!
Katherine H.
Submitted 01/10/18
Dr. Shepherd is hands down the best OBGYN I have ever seen. annual visits to the OBGYN are something no one looks forward to, or at least I don't. but river place is pretty great, I have never waited more than 5 min in the waiting room. All the nurses I have encountered are so kind and sweet. Dr. Shepherd goes above and beyond...she listens to everything you have to say, responds thoughtfully answering all your question. Her bedside manner is out of this world good, and she handled my I google everything so now I know the answer personality very well. Dr. Shepherd is a rock star!
Kara K.
Submitted 09/19/17
Dr. Thoppil is the best. He is always so patient and understanding with all questions big or small. It is such a great feeling when you are comfortable and are able to be so candid throughout your pregnancy journey.
Nicole M.
Submitted 09/14/17
Dr. Thoppil was above and beyond for the care and delivery of my son. I would recommend him to anyone! He is an intelligent and kind doctor.
Maria R.
Submitted 09/13/17
Dr. Thoppil is by far the best. As a nurse who has worked with many OB/GYN doctors he is the one that I choose for the care of my daughter and myself. Thank you for going above and beyond, oh and being a genius!
Maria Isabel M.
Submitted 09/12/17
Efficient, professional, caring doctor and staff
Kirstin D.
Submitted 09/11/17
Dr. Thoppil recently delivered my second child (via c-section). He and his team are fantastic!
Christin O.
Submitted 08/31/17
The best OBGYN I have gone too. I have moved over 30 minutes away and I will still make the trip to see him over anyone else.
Nazdaneh Z.
Submitted 05/04/17
I had a best experience for ever
Pamela B.
Submitted 05/03/17
The doc and his team ROCK 10 stars. Thank YOU
Amanda M.
Submitted 05/01/17
Fantastic in every regard!
Alexandria B.
Submitted 05/01/17
It may be a drive to get to this OBGYN office from where I live due to traffic, but it's worth the trip.
Brittany S.
Submitted 04/29/17
This was my first visit and first time meeting Dr. Thoppil. I was so impressed with how polite the staff was, how fast the registration process was, and how up-to-date and contemporary the office seemed. Dr. Thoppil was extremely informative and knowledgeable. Super pleased with my visit

Insurance Providers

Here are just some of the insurances we accept. If you have a narrow network plan (POS, exchange, specific hospital, EPO, HMO) please confirm our network status. They do not always follow the full network benefits. To find out if your insurance is accepted, please check the insurance website or give our office a call.

Aetna
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Cigna
Humana
Multiplan PHCS
Multiplan, Inc.
Tricare
United Healthcare